My Weekly Score: Trifari Kunio Matsumoto Necklace & Earrings Set

I touched on this set briefly when I explained how we buy and sell costume jewelry, but I wanted to go more in depth with it because it is such a beautiful pair.

First of all, we got a huge group of costume jewelry from our favorite auction house. There were about 200 pieces there and, when we calculated it out, we figured we got each piece for right around $1. That’s a fabulous deal!

I spotted the necklace first. Then, as I was digging through the rest of the jewelry, I spotted the matching earrings! Better yet, all three pieces were from Trifari. Trifari is a great name for costume jewelry, and one of the top names that is selling on eBay right now. I noticed that there was something else written below the maker’s mark, but I couldn’t quite make it out. I took pictures of the set and put it aside to list later.

When I sat down to list the set, I was determined to figure out what that squiggly mark below “Trifari” actually said. Armed with a loupe and Google, I finally made it out. It said “Kunio Matsumoto.” Hmm. That sounded important.

Turns out it was pretty important. Kunio Matsumoto is an artist and jewelry designer that worked for Trifari sometime in the 1970’s. Every once in a while the artists stamped certain designs with their signature – which makes them a whole lot more valuable! I’ve never come across a piece like this before, and haven’t found a signature from another artist since, but we recently got a pair of earrings in with Matsumoto’s name on them. I wish we had the whole set! Either way, it’s a neat look at who actually designed and created these stunning pieces.

Oh, right, and I suppose you want to know what this little beauty sold for! Well, we can figure we bought the necklace and earrings for $2 combined. I had high hopes for the set, so I put it up for $100…and it sold for a little over $180! It fetched a great price, but I’m even more excited that it got to go to a good home to be worn by someone who appreciates the beauty of the set.

2 thoughts on “My Weekly Score: Trifari Kunio Matsumoto Necklace & Earrings Set

  1. [...] may recognize the above necklace, which was part of a set, from this My Weekly Score post. Kunio Matsumoto was just one of the many designers that worked for Trifari and added their [...]

  2. Jewell says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I
    provide credit and sources back to your

    site? My website is in the exact same area of interest

    as yours and my visitors would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you
    provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Cheers!

Let us know what you think!

