Word of the Week: Lustreware

Lustreware (or Lusterware, if you go by the Americanized spelling) is a type of pottery or porcelain with a metallic-looking glaze that appears iridescent. I’ve only ever come across lustreware in gold, and I’m under the assumption that this is the most popular color. However, I’ve seen pictures of both pink and silver lustreware (though I have to admit, I think I still prefer gold!).

Lustreware is gorgeous – it takes a beautiful piece of china and adds an extra dimension to it. I’ve most often seen it added to tea sets, especially ones that look particularly Oriental in origin.

As always, it’s \better to see the real thing than have it described to you in words. Here’s a beautiful set that we sold in the past:

3 thoughts on “Word of the Week: Lustreware

  1. Thanks for the informative post. 🙂

  2. victoria harris says:

    I have many novelty salt and pepper shakers. I would like to sell them, no longer want to collect them.

Let us know what you think!

