My Weekly Score: Antique Balzac Books

This was a nice little surprise for us. The Boss bought a set of these books at an auction for $55, which is generally a pretty good price for an old series like this. I dug all 26 of them out, took pictures, and put them online as quickly as I could. It was a good deal.

Then an hour later – as I was fishing through more of the boxes from the sale – I came across 27 more. Wow! That was a much bigger set than I had anticipated. Keeping my head down, hoping no one would notice my folly, I quickly snapped some more pictures and added them to the original listing. I bumped the price a little, but I still kept it low according to what Terapeak was telling me.

The books, by the way, are from the late 1800s to early 1900s. They are by Honore de Balzac and have been translated from French into English. They detail scenes from this period in time – from country life to Parisian life to military and political life. With 53 volumes, there’s PLENTY here to read through.

The cool thing, especially, is that these are hardcover, limited edition books. Only 1,000 copies were made of each title and the set we had was #52. This wasn’t the complete set, as some volumes from each title were definitely missing, but it was very nearly so! And overall the damage was fairly minimal – something that is always nice to see in books this old.

We ended up selling the whole set for $200.00. Not bad!!

Have you ever come across an old set of books like these? What were they about? Do you like keeping them or selling them?

6 thoughts on “My Weekly Score: Antique Balzac Books

  1. GEREAN says:

    Congrats on the find AND the sale. Love your articles. So informative. ~Gerean

  2. wieghorst says:

    I have one book of this set. i bought It at a yard sale. If you know the complete list you could seek to find the missing volumes.
    The books such good reading!
    Do you books have uncut pages?

    • Oh, gosh. These are sold and gone already, but I want to say that they did have the rough cut edges. I wish I had the time to sit down and read them all, they seemed fascinating! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

Let us know what you think!

