My Weekly Score: Gold Locket Ring

We love costume jewelry around here, if you haven’t noticed yet. It sells well, but even more importantly, it’s fun to see what different pieces pass through our doors. We’ve sold hundreds of necklaces, brooches, rings, and bracelets – maybe even thousands. And yet I’ve only come across identical pieces a handful of times. It’s always exciting to open a new box of jewelry when it arrives because you know that you’re going to find something totally different.

Enter this cool and unique ring:

I called it a locket ring, for lack of a better word. But if anyone knows its real name, we’d love to find out! It was gold in color, with a beautiful and ornate pattern. The top popped open much like a little medicine box would. This was reminiscent of those rings you see in movies where the woman pours some sort of powder into the hero’s drink while his back is turned. Except you can see in the picture that it doesn’t have a solid bottom, so I’m sure its history wasn’t quite as interesting as that. 😉

That makes me wonder, though – what was its purpose? Why was it designed this way? My best guess was that it might have once held a tiny note or a lock of hair. Do you have any ideas?

We picked this up in a lot, which means that we got it for probably less than $1. The winning bid was $21.50 and the bragging rights to this distinct ring.

What’s the weirdest piece of jewelry you’ve ever come across?

7 thoughts on “My Weekly Score: Gold Locket Ring

  1. Sammy says:

    Hello there! I stumbled across your blog while researching about Kunio Matsumoto’s jewelry 🙂 Anyway, this kind of rings are widely-known as poison rings 🙂 Wish I was able to bid on this; so gorgeous! xoxo

    • Kunio Matsumoto jewelry is beautiful, but unfortunately there isn’t a lot of information on him or his pieces. If you stumble across any additional information that you don’t see in our post about him, please share! I’m really interested in his works.

      Thanks for the term for this. It still make me wonder why the bottom is open, though. I’m sure the name still applies, however. Thanks!

      • Sammy says:

        I agree, his jewelry is marvelous! I’m having trouble finding out more about him too, but I am asking around; hopefully something will turn up. Will definitely let you know 🙂 BTW, may I have your eBay store address? I can’t seem to find it and I will hate missing out on all the awesome things!

        No problem 🙂 I’m not sure about the open back, but I do know that some of them used to have solid perfumes in them too 🙂 Or maybe they were meant for bigger pills, haha!

        • Sure! Our main eBay ID is ItsAllOurVault. Sometimes we put jewelry on PageBrookEmporium too, but nearly everything is on the Vault site. I hope you find something you like! Thanks so much for chatting. 🙂

  2. Derek Williams says:

    I would suggest that this is a form of vinaigrette ring (similar to the boxes of the same title) that would have held a piece of natural sponge soaked in an sweet selling lotion which was sniffed when one came across a nasty and odorous person or place, hence the pierced design of the ring, which allows the vapors to escape and the hinged top allowed the sponge to be removed for soaking.

    Derek Williams (Antique jewelry dealer)

  3. […] a month ago, I posted this article about a ring that we had sold. I called it a “locket ring” because I simply didn’t have another name for it. I asked if […]

Let us know what you think!

