Word of the Week: Vinaigrette Ring

There are a lot of things I love about this blog and the people I’ve been able to talk to because of it. But my favorite thing isn’t sharing our pictures or telling you the awesome finds we’ve come across in the past week. My favorite thing is by far the community that we’ve established here.

It’s pretty small right now – just a few regulars that show up every now and then. (Have I ever mentioned I really look forward to your comments? They always make my day!) It’ll grow as the blog grows. Already in the past seven months or so our numbers have been exponentially rising. Eventually more people will show up more often and we’ll have a larger community.

That was the whole point of this blog – to establish a place for people to learn. I love teaching people about what I know. It’s valuable information that I think all collectors and sellers could benefit from. Why keep it locked away in my brain if it can help others who are in a similar situation? Plus, I just really love blogging.

One of the best parts about this blog, and this community, is that I also get a chance to learn. It happened just the other day, and that’s what I’m here to talk about. (I know, I know. Enough mushy-talk. Just get on with it!)

About a month ago, I posted this article about a ring that we had sold. I called it a “locket ring” because I simply didn’t have another name for it. I asked if anyone knew what its real name – and purpose – might be. Then, about two weeks ago, a very generous person (an antique jewelry dealer no less) pointed us in the right direction. And that’s what today’s post is about.

If you saw that first post, you’ll recognize the ring. It’s pretty unique. It is gold colored and the top is hinged. It opens up to reveal a nice little compartment with a pierced bottom. What could it possibly hold? Any liquid or powder would surely fall through the bottom.

This, ladies and gentleman, is called a vinaigrette ring. This type of ring holds a small sponge soaked in some sort of perfumed liquid. It could be flipped open and sniffed in order to chase away bad odors. The perforated bottom was in place so that the aroma could escape throughout the day. Ingenious idea, no?

This is a perfect example of “ask and you shall receive.” And you know what? I don’t think I’ll ever forget what one of these is called now! Thank you, Mr. Williams, for sharing your knowledge with the rest of us.

One thought on “Word of the Week: Vinaigrette Ring

  1. TC Byrd says:

    Just found your blog today and have really enjoyed it. Please keep it up!

Let us know what you think!

